Your cart is empty.

Our Silent Canvas

Product Image NOUS [vinyl LP]

NOUS [vinyl LP]

$ 19.99

While in the calm, wintry, forest solitude of Dreamland Recording Studio and in line with the definition of Nous, each day the artists will apply meditative techniques taking them further away from everyday, habitual mind states in order to provide an opportunity for a higher intuition to expand. During the three or four studio sessions per day, the approach will cycle between indeterminate and free improvisation, guided conceptual visualizations/esoteric graphics, meditations from different philosophical or esoteric traditions, mantric, chant, poetry and language experiments, and concepts derived solely from general musical or movement related guidelines. Many of the specifically musical ideas may be guided by certain tonal areas, interval restrictions, and modular rhythmic or melodic fragments. 

Though most of the artists know each other, they have never played together as a group and so the style of music that will result is difficult to predict. However, the influences for the project are drawn from elements of Post-Rock, Minimalism, Indeterminacy, World, Kraut-Rock, Psychedelic/Experimental Rock, Neo-Shamanism, Noise, Ambient, Drone, Folk Chant, and Free Jazz. (Within the widely varied careers of the various musicians, there is at least one connection to each of these genres.)
releases November 16, 2018 

Christopher Bono: keyboards/electronics/percussion/vocals 
Greg Fox: drums/percussion/electronics 
Shahzad Ismaily: electronics/guitar/bass 
Thor Harris: drums/percussion 
Grey Mcmurray: guitar 
Clarice Jensen: cello 
Caleb Burhans: violin, viola 
Laura Lutzke: violin 
Alex Sopp: flute 
Imago: cello, vocals 
Laraaji & Arji: zither, ambient sounds 

Kevin McMahon- Engineering, Mixing 
Joe Lambert: Mastering 

Jeremy Kinney: Editing 
Patrick Hyland: Editing